A Brief History of The Writers’ Workshop 

      The Writers’ Workshop was established in 1985 to promote writers and writing through a diverse program of literary events.  As the only non-profit literary center in Western North Carolina, we work to serve readers and writers of all backgrounds.  Since our inception, over 21,000 adults, teens and children have participated in our workshops, seminars, readings, contests and retreats.   The Writers’ Workshop has played a vital role in sponsoring and promoting local and regional events that showcase the literary arts.   

      Our programs include classes in fiction, poetry, non-fiction, playwriting, journal writing, children’s books, screenwriting, and more.  Programs are held in Asheville and Charlotte, North Carolina.  Our Distinguished Author Series is comprised of readings, lectures, discussions, and book signings by prestigious authors such as:

      Peter Matthiessen, E.L. Doctorow, Eudora Welty, Reynolds Price, John Le Carre, Kurt Vonnegut, Gail Godwin, Peter Taylor, Bobbie Ann Mason, Don De Lillo, Nikki Giovanni, Simon Ortiz, Alex Haley, Lee Smith, Pat Conroy, Sue Monk Kidd, Robert Creeley, Josephine Humphreys, Mark Mathabane, Yevgeny Yevtushenko, Allan Gurganus, William Kinsella, Clyde Edgerton,         Robert Morgan, John Ehle, Kathryn Stripling Byer ...  and many more. 

      We sponsor annual contests in poetry, fiction, creative non-fiction and memoirs, for adults and children.  We also offer manuscript critiquing and editing services; retreats and seminars; and have initiated numerous writers’ and poets’ support groups.